

# DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA GOVERNMENT ADVISORY NEIGHBORHOOD COMMISSION (ANC) 5D www.anc5d.org

## **MONTHLY PUBLIC MEETING MINUTEs**

Tuesday, June 14, 2016 - 7:00 PM

Metropolitan Police Fifth District Headquarters 1805 Bladensburg Road, NE Washington, DC 20002

### Welcome

 Call to order Roll Call Quorum established with 6 Commissioners present.

Adoption of Agenda – Chairman Roberts moved to adopt the agenda with 1 change of item #16 to be removed from the Agenda. Commissioner Henderson addressed the fact that the Meeting notice was not properly noticed and that we could not vote on any agenda items. Commissioner Roberts advised that there would be a Special Meeting to ratify the votes of the night. She asked for a reason why the notice was not posted timely. Secretary Buggs stated that it was an oversight in the posting of the Meeting notice. Revised agenda adopted with 1 change by a vote of 5-1-0.

2. Chairperson's Report

Distributed to the public

Commissioner Henderson asked questions regarding meeting performance criteria. Commissioner Roberts explained the questions on the survey and suggested that Commissioner Henderson address her questions regarding the budget to the Treasurer.

- 3. Treasurer's Report
  - There were no transactions in the bank account. The balance for the account is \$73,543.84 to include a district deposit of \$4,082.66 for the last quarter.
- 4. Adoption of Meeting Minutes
  - Commissioner Buggs moved to approve the Meeting Minutes as distributed for May 10, 2016. Commissioner Roberts 2<sup>nd</sup>.
  - Discussion: Commissioner Henderson reiterated that the meeting notice went out late and questioned the vote on all agenda items. Commissioner Roberts again explained that the votes were not legally binding and will be addressed in a special meeting 2 weeks from the date to affirm the votes. Vote passed 5-1-0.

Standing Presentations (5 minutes each)

- 5. Department of Public Works (DPW)
  - Director Shorter explained the services and processes of DPW including the "311" services.
  - Hardship Programs Registration for 65 yrs and older residents.
  - Graffiti Wipeout Program (311)

Commissioner Roberts Commissioner Buggs

Commissioner Shropshire

**Commissioner Roberts** 

Commissioner Buggs

Director Christopher Shorter

- . Director Shorter addressed questions asked by the community in regards to his presentation.
- Identified the new DPW Liaison as Ms. Darlette Salley ۲
- 6. Executive Office of the Mayor

Mr. Hakeem Rogers (202) 727-2822 (o) (202) 394-4399 (c) Hakeem.Rogers@dc.gov

- Introduced himself as the new Mayor's office liaison taking over for Mr. Tommie Jones. .
- Provided a report from the Mayor's office. ۲
- 7. Ward 5 Councilmember McDuffie

Ms. Laisha Dougherty

Ms. Dougherty made announcements from Councilmember McDuffie's office.

- 8. Single Member District Reports (1 minute each)
  - Commissioner Shropshire 5D02 .
  - Commissioner Roberts 5D03 .
  - Commissioner Blacknell 5D04
  - Commissioner Henderson 5D05
  - Commissioner Buggs 5D06 (No Report)
  - Commissioner Lee 5D07

Commissioners provided reports on each of their districts.

9. Community Concerns (1 minute each; 9 minutes total)

**5D** Community Members

In compliance with DC Code 1-309.11(b)(3), this time is provided for up to 5 community members to share "their views on problems or issues of concern within the Commission area and on proposed DC Government actions that affect the Commission area." Please provide your name and address/location of the issue when stating your concern. In most cases, the ANC 5D Commissioner in whose single member district the issue resides will be responsible for follow-up.

- . Requested update on the inoperable elevator at Hechinger mall (Commissioner Henderson responded)
- 0 Sean Moore: Update given on the DC Streetcar; Partnership with Langston Golf Course
- Follow-up on Single Member District Meetings; Graffiti issues; and Food 7 issues (Commissioner Henderson responded)
- Mr. John Richardson: Concerns with BZA Case #19323 property at 1167 Morse Street, N.E. (Commissioner Buggs responded)
- Ms. Sahara introduced herself and her upcoming project on New York Avenue

### Requested Presentations (5 minutes each)

10. Trash Free Potomac Watershed Initiative/Alice Ferguson Foundation Julia Saintz

ANC 5D Commissioners	5D01: Peta-Gay Lewis	5D02: Keisha Shropshire	5D03: Adam Roberts
2015 - 2016		ANC 5D Treasurer	ANC 5D Chairperson
5D04: Bernice Blacknell ANC 5D Vice Chairperson	5D05: Kathy Henderson	5D06: Yvonne Buggs ANC 5D Secretary	5D07: Clarence Lee

JSaintz@fergusonfoundation.org

- 11. Adoption of Community Grant Policy (No Vote)
- 12. Meeting Location Change

0

- Commissioner Roberts discussed the Meeting Location Change Resolution and moved to adopt resolution as read. Commissioner Buggs 2<sup>nd</sup>. Discussion heard from Commissioner Henderson. Motion passed 5-1-0.
- 13. Adoption of Reimbursement Policy
  - Commissioner Shropshire explained the Policy
- 14. Resolution in Support: Citizens Fair Elections Act

Commissioner Roberts

**Commissioner Roberts** 

Commissioner Roberts

**Commissioner Shropshire** 

**Commissioner Shropshire** 

Mr. Ernest Bailey

- Mr. Bailey explained the Citizens Fair Elections Act
- Discussion heard.
- Motion made to support the Resolution for the Citizens Fair Elections Act. Commissioner 2<sup>nd</sup>. Motion passed 5-1-0.
- 15. Adoption of ANC 5D Budget
  - Explained the proposed budget
  - Discussion heard
  - Commissioner Shropshire moved to adopt the budget as presented. Commissioner Blacknell 2<sup>nd</sup>. Motion passed 5-1-0

#### <u>8:30 – Adjourn</u>

Chairman Roberts moved to adjourn meeting, Commissioner Blacknell 2nd. Meeting adjourned at 8:40 pm.

Submitted By Commissioner H. Yvonne Buggs, 5D06 Secretary

The next ANC 5D monthly public meeting is on Tuesday, July 12, 2016, 7:00 pm at 1805 Bladensburg Road NE.

ANC 5D Commissioners 2015 - 2016	5D01: Peta-Gay Lewis	5D02: Keisha Shropshire ANC 5D Treasurer	5D03: Adam Roberts ANC 5D Chairperson
5D04: Bernice Blacknell	5D05: Kathy Henderson	5D06: Yvonne Buggs	5D07: Clarence Lee
ANC 5D Vice Chairperson		ANC 5D Secretary	